DO NOT SAY TRINITY

by Elisabeth Strout

Many lists of Biblical contradictions fail to convince readers, as many may be written off with the “inclusive” explanation (i.e. Matthew and Mark recount Jesus’ last words as being “my God, my God why have you forsaken me”, Luke claims they were “into thy hands I commit my spirit”, while John says they were “it is finished”, and Christians generally claim that Jesus said all three in succession, “my God, my God why have you forsaken me, into your hands I commit my spirit, it is finished”.), but there are some narratives that cannot be reconciled, no matter how you superimpose them.

Rather than posting them all here at once and leave readers floundering in all the references, I’ll start with a case study of one particular event, namely Peter’s denial of Christ. While the wording differs insignificantly between the three questioners who point Peter out, that is not…

View original post 1,169 more words

Comments are closed.